Appointments to the Boundary Commission for Wales


Huw Vaughan Thomas and Sam A Hartley have been appointed as Members of the Boundary Commission for Wales.

The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Minister for the Cabinet Office, has approved the appointment of Huw Vaughan Thomas and Sam A Hartley as Members of the Boundary Commission for Wales, both with effect from 5 October 2020 for a period of five years.

Huw Vaughan Thomas CBE has worked in a number of public sector roles, including Regional Director for South West England and Director for Wales in the Department of Employment. He was subsequently the Chief Executive of Gwynedd and Denbighshire County Councils. He has also held a number of non-executive appointments including serving on the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales and Chairing the Big Lottery Committee for Wales. Most recently, he retired from his role as the Auditor General for Wales, an appointment he held for eight years.

Sam Hartley is an experienced public sector senior leader, specialising in working for independent arm’s-length bodies (ALBs). His background is in the constitutional and regulatory fields, and he currently leads an advisory ALB in the aviation sector. Prior to taking this role, he led the Boundary Commission for England, delivering the most recent review of Parliamentary boundaries in late 2018. He has also had senior roles in healthcare, constitutional and electoral regulators, as well as in the Cabinet Office. He sits as an independent member on the Audit and Risk Committee for the Office of the Secretary of State for Wales, and is Chair of Governors at his children’s school.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.