Reappointment to the Adaptation Committee of the Climate Change Committee


Defra and the Devolved Administrations have reappointed Professor Michael Davies to the Adaptation Committee of the Climate Change Committee.

The Adaptation Committee is comprised of experts in the fields of climate change impacts, science, environmental economics, conservation, public health and business. It provides independent, expert advice on preparing for and adapting to climate change.

Whilst this reappointment is not regulated by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments, it has been made in line with the guidance set out in the Ministerial Governance Code for Public Appointments. It will run from 1 February 2021.

Commenting on Professor Davies’ reappointment, Adaptation Committee Chair Baroness Brown of Cambridge said:

Mike has been an excellent appointment to the Committee. His background in buildings, planning, cities and public health, including heat, ventilation and air quality, is central to the adaptation challenges the UK faces with all of our building stock as the climate warms.

Commenting on his reappointment, Professor Davies said:

I am delighted to be able to continue as a member of the Adaptation Committee. The Committee undertakes vital work in addressing the pressing need to prepare for a changing climate.

The Board of the Adaptation Committee is currently one member short as it prepares to recruit a successor for Professor Dame Georgina Mace, who joined the Adaptation Committee in 2018 to lead its work assessing the impacts of climate change and adaptation responses in the UK’s natural environment. Defra and the CCC have paid their respects to Dame Georgina, who sadly passed away last year.

READ  Ministry of Defence has more PC experts than it has warships | UK | News (Reports)

The Adaptation Committee has appointed Professor Kate Jones as interim Expert Advisor until the full recruitment campaign is run.

Biographical details

Professor Michael Davies

Professor Michael Davies is Professor of Building Physics and Environment at the UCL Institute for Environmental Design and Engineering (IEDE) and Director of the Complex Built Environment Systems Group at UCL For over a decade he has led an extensive programme of research, founded on close collaboration with researchers from health and other disciplines, which has sought to understand the complex relationship between the built environment and human well-being.

READ  UK lockdown news: Elderly could be ‘moved to hotels’ to guard against coronavirus outbreak | UK | News (Reports)

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. Adaptation Sub-Committee members receive £550 per day based on a time commitment of up to three days per month.

The Adaptation Sub-Committee of the Committee on Climate Change is an advisory Non-Departmental Public Body created under the Climate Change Act (2008). It is publicly known as the Adaptation Committee (AC) of the Climate Change Committee. The AC is jointly sponsored by the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra), the Northern Ireland Executive, the Scottish Government and the Welsh Government. Further information about the CCC is available on the CCC website.

READ  World anti-corruption day newsletter: December 2020

The Board for the Adaptation Committee comprises a Chairperson and five members. Currently the board is one member short as it prepares to recruit a successor to Professor Dame Georgina Mace.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.