What will happen to Commonwealth when the Queen dies? | Royal | News (Reports)


“Hence, Barbados will take the next logical step toward full sovereignty and become a Republic by the time we celebrate our 55th Anniversary of Independence.”

Asked to comment on the Commonwealth country’s plans a palace spokesman said: “This is a matter for the Government and people of Barbados.”

The 53-country organisation includes 16 countries where the British monarch is officially the head of state, including Australia, Canada, Jamaica, New Zealand, and Barbados.

READ  Controversial private probation contracts scrapped at a cost of £170m - UK

It’s a remnant of the British Empire, which today exists mainly as a trade and political organisation.

It has few formal powers but carries a huge weight of symbolism.

Many of these countries were part of the empire against their will, and almost all declared independence long ago.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.