Standards Matter 2: Committee to hold online evidence sessions


As part of its current landscape review of standards, the Committee is gathering a range of evidence and views about the structures in place to support high standards in public life.

The Committee is also holding evidence sessions, via Zoom, on Wednesday 10, Wednesday 17 and Wednesday 24 March to hear from individuals and organisations on these issues.

These sessions will be livestreamed via the Committee’s YouTube page.

Wednesday 10th March – The Ministerial Code

9:30 – 10:30: Sir Alex Allan, former Independent Adviser on Ministers’ Interests, and Sir Philip Mawer, former Independent Adviser on Ministers’ Interests and former Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards

11:00 – 11:45: Dave Penman, General Secretary, FDA Union

13:45 – 14:45: Sir Bernard Jenkin MP, Chair, Liaison Committee

14:45 – 15:45: William Wragg MP, Chair, Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee

READ  Foreign flagged ships detained in the UK during November 2020

16:30 – 17:15: Professor Tony Wright, Professorial Fellow, Birkbeck, University of London, and former Chair of the Public Administration Select Committee

Names of further witnesses will follow for the sessions to be held on 17th (the importance of high standards) and 24th March (standards bodies and regulators).

The public consultation for this review has now closed. The Committee would like to thank all those who submitted evidence and views.

Meetings, roundtables and research for this review are ongoing. Notes and transcripts will be published on the Committee’s website in due course.

The Committee will report in the autumn.

Notes to Editors

  1. Interview requests and media enquiries should go to Maggie O’Boyle on 07880 740627.
  2. The independent Committee on Standards in Public Life advises the Prime Minister on arrangements for upholding ethical standards of conduct across public life in England. The Committee promotes the 7 Principles of Public Life, which outline the ethical standards those working in the public sector are expected to adhere to. The Principles apply to all public office holders and private and voluntary organisations delivering services paid for by public funds. The Committee conducts broad inquiries, collecting evidence to assess institutions, policies and practices and makes recommendations to the Prime Minister where appropriate. It is not a regulator and cannot investigate individual complaints.
  3. The current members of the Committee are: Lord (Jonathan) Evans of Weardale KCB DL, Chairman, Rt Hon Dame Margaret Beckett DBE MP (Labour), Dr Jane Martin CBE, Dame Shirley Pearce DBE, Monisha Shah , Rt Hon Lord (Andrew) Stunell OBE (Liberal Democrat) and Rt Hon Jeremy Wright QC MP (Conservative).
  4. The Committee is also currently conducting a review of electoral regulation, on the way donations and campaign expenditure by candidates, political parties and non-party campaigners in election and referendum campaigns are regulated and enforced by the Electoral Commission, the Crown Prosecution Service and the Police. It is due to report on electoral regulation by June 2021.
  5. You can follow the Committee on Twitter @PublicStandards
  6. Watch the Committee’s short videos about the Nolan principles
READ  Prince Philip taken to hospital after 'feeling unwell' - Palace issues statement (Reports)

Press Release – CSPL Online Evidence Sessions

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology.

Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a
version of this document in a more accessible format, please email [email protected].
Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.

READ  London news: Police issue warning ahead of weekend of chaos - with major punishment | UK | News (Reports)


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.